EVERY.DAY.RIDE #5 with Maja

Tell us a little about yourself?

I'm originally from Slovenia and have been living in the UK for nearly 30 years and 22 of these in North Wales. After wanting a motorcycle all my life, I finally had the opportunity to pass the test and get my licence at the age of 42. I have a grown up son who is 24 and lives in Sydney, Australia. I love traveling and riding motorcycles and I have now combined the two passions into a business running motorcycle tours

How and when did you get into riding?

I had a moped in my teens and always wanted a bigger bike but my dad wouldn't have any of it. When I decided to do the test I found out I was pregnant and the lifestyle changed soon after, of course. Once my son was 16 years old, we both agreed that he is old enough to make his own lunch, should something happen to me and with his blessing, I finally got the bike licence. 

What are the best and worst things about riding?

The best thing is the ability to go anywhere, places you can't get to in a car. The bit I love most about it is the feeling of freedom. The worst thing is the necessary evil of having to do the motorway miles when you want to get to the fun bits quickly due to the time constraint.

Tell us about your most memorable ride to date?

There are a few but the most memorable is definitely my first three week solo trip around Europe. Looking back now, I knew so little about motorcycle touring and it was such a valuable experience. The second one was a solo trip around Tasmania, such a fantastic place!  

What's the best piece of riding advice you've ever been given?

Assume everyone else on the road is trying to kill you and ride defensively. It's saved me a few times! 

What do you bring with you on every ride?

My phone! It has my music on it that I listen to whilst riding as well as the sat nav app. Not to mention the cards to pay for the fuel and the coffees. 

How do you keep your bikes secure at home and on the go? Share your best tips to help others keep their bikes safe.

At home, the bikes are chained to the ground anchor and I used to carry a chain with me. I was given a disc lock a few years ago but I find it quite fiddly to fit. Since using the Litelok, it is my go-to security device when traveling. I use it on my push bike, too. 

When someone asks what kit you recommend, you say?

For security - definitely the Litelok, but I also recommend a tracking device on the motorcycle. Other kit, depending on the type of riding I do - helmets LS2 and Schuberth, ladies' jackets/trosers by Weise and Spidi, boots Sidi and Daytonas. Gloves RST and Revit. Keis heated gear for winter riding! I don’t leave the house without my heated gloves and jacket when it’s cold. 

What's on your riding bucket list?

South Americas! 


You can follow Maja's moto adventures here!